KeptGuides
Repair Pricer alternatives: 7 options for home buyers
Kept is the best Repair Pricer alternative on a deadline: $79 per memo, usually under 4 hours. Six more options, with price, speed and the catch.
Updated
What's the best alternative to Repair Pricer?
For a buyer on an inspection deadline, Kept. It prices every line of your report for $79, usually under 4 hours, shows how each price is built, and doesn't sell repairs. Repair Pricer costs $79.99 or $109.99, guarantees its reports within 24 hours, and generally offers no refunds. The free alternatives each come with a way to book or order the repair work.
Kept publishes this page and is one of the options listed.
Key takeaways
- Repair Pricer's same-day report costs extra, and it generally offers no refunds or price changes.
- The free options (Thumbtack, Curbio, BOSSCAT) each lead toward repair work, and BOSSCAT takes 1 to 3 business days.
- For a roof, foundation or sewer line, add a written contractor quote to whatever you use.
Why switch from Repair Pricer?
Mostly time and money. A home buyer pays $79.99 for Basic or $109.99 for Premium. Its support page says "All reports are completed within 24 hours," and Premium and RUSH reports "are normally completed in 4-6 business hours," so the faster report costs more.
If you don't like the result, you're usually stuck with it. Its terms say "we generally offer no refunds," and its support page says "we do not allow consumers to influence or change prices." Its sample report sits behind a contact form, so you can't see what you're buying first. The Repair Pricer review has the details.
Which alternatives are worth a look?
Ranked for a buyer or buyer's agent who has to send a repair request before the inspection window closes.
1. Kept
$79 per memo, usually under 4 hours. Kept puts a price on every repair line in your report, built from labor hours at trade wages anchored to Bureau of Labor Statistics wage data for your metro, plus materials, the adders a contractor charges (trip, permit, equipment, disposal, markup) and local sales tax. It doesn't sell repair work, and its sample memo is open on the home page.
The catch: it doesn't replace a contractor walk-through. Items like foundation movement or a whole-house repipe get flagged for a contractor quote instead of a guess. See how Kept prices a repair.
2. Contractor quotes
Each contractor sets its own terms, and turnaround is days, depending on who can come out. A written quote from someone who has seen the problem is the strongest number you can hand a seller, because the seller's side can call the contractor. The Federal Trade Commission says to "get multiple estimates."
The catch is time. One visit covers one system, and every quote is a bid for a job that contractor wants. Use quotes for the one to three big-ticket findings, not every line. How to get repair estimates during the inspection period covers the timing.
3. Planner5D Repair Estimator
$39.99, with the full report in 3 hours or less. The catch is in its own FAQ: the tool "is best used for ballpark estimates rather than exact quotes." A ballpark is fine for a first look. It's harder to defend when the seller's agent asks where a number came from.
4. Thumbtack Home Repair Estimates
Free, within 24 hours. The catch: the estimate is a path to hiring. Its page says "Then you can book a Thumbtack pro right from the repair estimate."
5. Curbio
Free, within 24 hours. The catch: Curbio sells the repairs. Its announcement says you can hire it "to handle the repairs through our concierge home improvement services."
6. BOSSCAT
Free, but you need an account, and it takes 1 to 3 business days. The estimate arrives as an online shopping cart where, its FAQ says, you can "order your repairs through our vetted service partners in the same online shopping cart." Its site doesn't explain how a line price is calculated.
Count business days: a Friday upload can land the next Wednesday, which is a big bite out of a short window. More in the BOSSCAT review.
7. Binsr AI (Arizona)
$29.99 per report, and its site promises "Estimates in Seconds." Arizona buyers run into it when they're filling out the BINSR, the Buyer's Inspection Notice and Seller's Response. The catch: it offers to "collect formal quotes and complete repairs through our preferred partners."
How do the alternatives compare?
| Option | Price | Turnaround | Sells or books the repair |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kept | $79 per memo | usually under 4 hours | No |
| Contractor quotes | Set by each contractor | Days, depending on who can come out | Yes, it's a bid for the job |
| Planner5D | $39.99 | Full report in 3 hours or less | Not stated |
| Thumbtack | Free | Within 24 hours | You book Thumbtack pros from the estimate |
| Curbio | Free | Within 24 hours | Yes |
| BOSSCAT | Free | 1 to 3 business days | Yes, through partners |
| Binsr AI | $29.99 per report | "Estimates in Seconds," per its site | Offers repairs through preferred partners |
| Repair Pricer | $79.99 Basic, $109.99 Premium | Within 24 hours; Premium and RUSH normally 4 to 6 business hours | Not stated |
Every service on the list is in inspection report repair estimate services compared.
Is there a free alternative to Repair Pricer?
There are free estimates, but none of them is free in the way that matters. Thumbtack, Curbio and BOSSCAT each price your report because the estimate leads to repair work: a pro you book, or a job the company or its partners do. The price comes from someone who benefits when you order the repair.
For a repair request, you need a number you can explain line by line when the seller's side pushes back, from someone with no stake in the job. Kept doesn't sell repairs, shows the math on every line, and costs $79.
Which should you pick if your deadline is close?
Do three things the day the report lands:
- Price every line of the report, so nothing on your list is a guess.
- Book contractor quotes for the biggest findings, because scheduling is the slow part.
- Treat any free estimate as a check on the big lines, and only if it arrives in time.
Your contract sets the deadline for the repair request, so confirm the date with your agent.
Can a buyer's agent use these for a client?
Yes. Kept charges $79 per memo whether the buyer or the agent uploads the report, and it doesn't sell repair work. Pricing inspection findings for buyer's agents covers how to walk a client through the numbers.
What about an Arizona BINSR?
The same split applies. Binsr AI ties into preferred repair partners, and the Valley repair companies that quote BINSRs for free also want the repair job. BINSR repair estimate tools compares each one.
If your inspection window is open and you need every line priced before you send the request, upload your inspection report to Kept: $79 per memo, usually under 4 hours.
Sources
- Repair Pricer pricing (repairpricer.com/pricing)
- Repair Pricer support (repairpricer.com/support)
- Repair Pricer terms and conditions (repairpricer.com/terms-and-conditions)
- Repair Pricer free sample report form (repairpricer.com/free-demo)
- Planner5D Repair Estimator (planner5d.com/repairestimator)
- Thumbtack Home Repair Estimates (repair.thumbtack.com)
- Curbio, inspection estimate tool announcement (curbio.com/curb-appeal-blog/announcing-curbios-inspection-estimate-tool)
- BOSSCAT instant project estimates (bosscathome.com/instant-project-estimates)
- BOSSCAT for home inspectors, with FAQ (bosscathome.com/home-inspectors)
- Binsr AI pricing (binsr.ai/pricing)
- Binsr AI, how it works (binsr.ai/how-it-works)
- Federal Trade Commission, how to avoid a home improvement scam
Cost figures are modeled from public wage and materials data unless a line says observed. Kept is accountable for the numbers on this page, and corrections go to support@usekept.com. How we price.